Vegan Boston Bucket List

In a little less than a month, I’ll be heading to Boston for my summer internship. Although food-wise, Boston is primarily known for its clam chowder, cannoli, and baked beans, there are also amazing vegan options. Not only did I try some great restaurants when I interned there last summer, but I’ve been stalking Yelp and bookmarking my little heart out. Here are the places that I can’t wait to try:

Never been:

  • True Bistro. This is an upscale, all-vegan dinner spot offering globally-inspired cuisine. Although I’m not sure I can technically afford it ($16 a plate? gulp) then I might just have to splurge. I’d love to try their Smoky Potato-Kale Cake, made with cashew cheese, smoked tofu, romesco sauce, and fresh thyme, and their Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler, served with orange zest and strawberry ice cream
  • Root. Fresh, American-style vegan food and juices with a casual atmosphere and moderate prices. On my “to-try” list is their Sweet Potato Quesadilla, served with a creamy thyme sauce, and the Basil Lemonade.
  • Veggie Planet. Man oh man, it’s been way too long since I’ve had a good vegan pizza. Like… never. So I can’t wait to go this Harvard Square restaurant and try their meat-free, dairy-free options. What sounds the best? The Peanut Curry pie: dough, topped with coconut rice, topped with broccoli and Thai peanut sauce, topped with fried tofu croutons and peanuts.
  • FoMu. Amazing plant-based ice-cream that omnivores and herbivores alike love? Ugh, I’m so excited I can’t even tell you. All of the flavors sound good, but there’s no way the Salted Caramel won’t be decadent, and I’m intrigued by the Apple Cider Donut.
  • Taco Party. I’m not positive I’ll be trying this food truck, but if I’m in its neighborhood (or, I guess, it’s in mine) I’ll give it a try. I mean, it’s a vegan taco stand–I’m almost obligated! Some of the options sound too fried/bready/saucy for me, but the Porto Asada taco– tamari marinated portobella mushroom served with cabbage, lime cilantro onion relish and black sesame seed– sounds yummy.

Tried and Loved:

  • Life Alive. This restaurant is a fresh-foods-and-granola lover’s paradise. But even if you’re not a hippie, you’ll be superbly satisfied by their huge, vibrant salads and nutrient-packed bowls.
  • Sweetgreen. Last summer I ate lunch here almost every day, which although my stomach loved, my wallet did not. Their Spicy Sabzi salad, which has organic baby spinach and shredded kale with spicy quinoa, spicy broccoli, carrots, raw beets, basil, sprouts and roasted tofu, topped with a carrot chili vinaigrette and a squeeze of sriracha, is worth waiting in line with every other female professional in a twenty-mile radius. 

So there you have it–my food bucket list! I haven’t even gotten to the Whole Foods dream grocery list or the cafes and delis outside of Boston… Looks like it’s going to be one yummy summer.

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Boston Bucket List

Leave a comment